I Mina Trentai Tres Na Liheslaturan Guåhan Resolutions Log Sheet

				Date of	Date	Committee / Ofc	PUBLIC HEARING	DATE COMMITTEE	
Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Presentation	Referred	Referred	DATE	REPORT FILED	Date Adopted
271-33 (COR)	Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.	Relative to observing the occasion of the 4th Annual	01/21/16	01/23/16					01/22/16
	T. R. Muña Barnes	Latte Peace Festival and commending and expressing	5:11 p.m.	10:00 a.m.					
		gratitude to the people of the villages of Tamuning,							
		Tumon, and Harmon; the Tamuning-Tumon-Harmon							
		Mayor's Office; and the participants and organizers of							
		the Latte Peace Festival for hosting the Festival and							
		encouraging unity and peace within the community.							

I MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2016 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 271-33 (COR)

Introduced by:

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.
T. R. Muña Barnes
R. J. Respicio
T. C. Ada
V. Anthony Ada
FRANK B. AGUON, JR.
Frank F. Blas, Jr.
B. J.F. Cruz
James V. Espaldon
Brant T. McCreadie
Tommy Morrison
Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.
Michael F.Q. San Nicolas
Mary Camacho Torres
N. B. Underwood, Ph.D.

Relative to observing the occasion of the 4th Annual Latte Peace Festival and commending and expressing gratitude to the people of the villages of *Tamuning*, *Tumon*, and *Harmon*; the *Tamuning-Tumon-Harmon* Mayor's Office; and the participants and organizers of the Latte Peace Festival for hosting the Festival and encouraging unity and peace within the community.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I

2 MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, the Latte Peace Festival was first coordinated four years ago, in
- 4 January 2013, and it was spearheaded by the Tamuning-Tumon-Harmon Mayor's
- 5 Office; and

WHEREAS, the Latte Peace Festival was envisioned as an empowering communal celebration of unity, diversity, collective strength and peace; and

WHEREAS, the Latte Peace Festival has become a significant event linked to cultural education and exchange through the sharing of foods and the promoting of cultural awareness; and

WHEREAS, international advocates for world peace, Dr. Daisaku Ikeda and Mrs. Kaneko Ikeda, and other visiting dignitaries have been honored guests at the Festival in accordance with promoting harmony and peace; and

WHEREAS, the California-based International Committee of Artists for Peace (ICAP) has continued to provide support to the Latte Peace Festival since the Festival's inception, further encouraging the belief in making art a vehicle for creating peace; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Edna C. Tabanda of the Philippine city of La Trinidad – sister city to *Tamuning-Tumon-Harmon* – and distinct members of their community join the 4th Annual Latte Peace Festival to share their culture and knowledge, as well as a most welcomed performance in the spirit of cultural exchange; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Arthur C. Baldo of the Philippine city of Sablan – sister city to the village of *Agat* – and distinct members of their community also join the 4th Annual Latte Peace Festival to share their culture and knowledge, and also share a spirited performance as a most welcomed gesture of cultural exchange; and

WHEREAS, the Latte Peace Festival will continue to plant the seeds of peace and promote unity within our island community and with our neighbors, and celebrate the culture of Guam and of those who call the island their home; now therefore, be it

1 **RESOLVED.** that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trentai Tres Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people 2 of Guam, observe the occasion of the 4th Annual Latte Peace Festival; and does 3 further commend and express gratitude to the people of the villages of Tamuning, 4 5 Tumon, and Harmon; the Tamuning-Tumon-Harmon Mayor's Office; and the participants and organizers of the Latte Peace Festival, for hosting the Festival and 6 7 encouraging unity and peace throughout the world; and be it further 8 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of 9 the same be thereafter transmitted to the Tamuning-Tumon-Harmon Mayor, the 10

13 Mrs. Kaneko Ikeda of Soka Gakkai International (SGI); to the International

Honorable Louise Rivera, and Vice Mayor, the Honorable Kenneth C. Santos; to the

Tamuning-Tumon-Harmon Municipal Planning Council; to Dr. Daisaku Ikeda and

14 Committee of Artists for Peace (ICAP); to the Honorable Mayor Edna C. Tabanda

from La Trinidad, Philippines; to the Honorable Mayor Arthur C. Baldo from Sablan,

16 Philippines; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'låhen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI TRES NA LIHESLATURAN GUÂHAN ON THE 22ND DAY OF JANUARY 2016.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

11

12

RORY J. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES
Legislative Secretary

COMMITTEE VOTING SHEET

Resolution No. 271-33 (COR) - Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D., T.R. Muña Barnes, Relative to observing the occasion of the 4th Annual Latte Peace Festival and commending and expressing gratitude to the people of the villages of *Tamuning*, *Tumon*, and *Harmon*; the *Tamuning-Tumon-Harmon* Mayor's Office; and the participants and organizers of the Latte Peace Festival for hosting the Festival and encouraging unity and peace within the community.

	SIGNATURE	DATE	TO ADOPT	TO NOT ADOPT	TO ABSTAIN
Senator Rory J. Respicio	ΛM_{\odot}	. 1 1 1 2			5.5 m
Chairperson	Y, Voto	1246			
Senator Thomas C. Ada	(i / ,				\$*************************************
Vice-Chairperson	L-1/1/70	1/22/16	V		و وست
Speaker Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.	0 1/1				4
Member	CVVIC	17414			
Vice-Speaker Benjamin J.F. Cruz	C.M.	1/1.4/			9 3
Member	FLAME	121	V. Andrew		-
Legislative Secretary					
Tina Rose Muña Barnes					The second secon
Member					
Senator Frank B. Aguon, Jr.					
Member		2 /			
Senator Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.	Y-Villa	1/2/	: Amer		
Member	A V V I V		<u> </u>		
Senator Michael F.Q. San Nicolas Member		**************************************			
	1 KV	124 17	<u>V</u>		
Senator Nerissa B. Underwood, Ph.D. Member					
		4		***************************************	
Senator V. Anthony Ada	G-14	1/21/6	and the same of th		
Minority Leader	V VVC	10010	<u> </u>		
Senator Mary Camacho Torres Minority Member		/221v	1/		
withority Welliber	V V 162		ą.		
For Sponsor's Office Use Only					
					T. C.
Sponsor Signature: Staff Contact Person:					
Staff Contact Person: (A) Jan (A)		<u> </u>	<u></u>		
For COR/Clerk's Office Use Only					
CertifiedReturned					
Name: MY/ New	1)				-
	4		W		•
Date:					•
Notes:					•